Word Sweeter then Honey Psalm 119:103

How sweet are Your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth! Psalm 119:103

A friend showed me this activity and I love it so I do it daily with the children. Just make sure you know that allergies of the children and do not do this one with children younger than 1 years old.

I get out a simple black BibleĀ and ask the children what it is. A few say, “Bible” or I say it if our talkers are gone that day. Bible is a pretty easy word and if you keep it at Bible and add some praise as they say it, the children are pretty quick to answer. :) I remember Samuel who is really smart but just choose not to talk. He did not even say mom or dad. Yet each day in class I would still ask the children what I was holding (Bible). Well…one day, Samuel said, “Bib-ble.” That sure is an amazing first word to have!

Then we sing the Bible song (while clapping hands on table): This is the Word of God, it’s absolutely true, absolutely, positively, absolutely true! Then I get out the honey bottle. I ask the children, “What is this?” A few of the older 1 year olds and 2 year olds say, “Honey!” I tell them that God’s Word is SWEETER than honey and ask them if they want to taste the honey. Of course they do so they get their little pointer finger out awaiting their tiny drop of honey that quickly makes its way to their mouth. A few times the children ask for another drop but they soon learn that all that is allowed is one small drop.

A fun craft: I have a large bee hive that has a little door that opens on the front of it. The children get to glue Bibles inside of the door. They also get to glue bee cut-outs or stick bee stickers all over on the picture. I’d love it if I could get mini honey bears like an inch tall that I could give to the children. I have yet to find them though. If only creating things like that were easier. :)

About Amy Dirks

I am full time staff at International House of Prayer in Kansas City. I get the joy of teaching 1 & 2 year olds the simplicity of Christ. I have the even greater joy of ministering to the Lord as a "Watchman on the Wall" in the 24/7 prayer room.
This entry was posted in Bible. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

